TPR Home | Parks | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram 

Extreme coasters that have been redesigned or taken down?

Hi everyone!

I am a TV Production student at the University of Leeds (UK), and I'm just researching roller coasters in general, ie. the reasons people ride them (the psychology), how the industry competes for the 'ultimate' new ride etc.

I have heard of a particular roller coaster that had a particular inversion that people found too intense and had to be removed or redesigned. Does anybody know which I'm talking about? (or maybe I have a false memory!)

If anyone knows of any other rides that have had to be redesigned or even decommissioned because of their intensity, I'd be really interested to know about it!

All the best,

Chris

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well I know of Maverick's heartline roll being removed before its opening due to stress on the track and trains. There's also Intimidator 305's first curve being reprofiled to reduce wear and tear on the wheels due to the strong extended G's. Hope that helps!

Kings Island's Son of Beast, the only modern wooden coaster with an inversion, had that one loop removed so that it could run lighter trains, a move to cut down on its roughness.

Six Flags Fiesta Texas' Rattler had its once-world-record-holding first drop shortened to reduce the intensity of the forces on its structure (I believe, yes?)

Six Flags Magic Mountain's Colossus had a double-dip reprofiled to cut down on the severity of the negative G-forces there.

So many more...

Sigh:

Thriller/Taz Texas Tornado/Zonga: In 2003, Zonga had the first and second inversions' entries raised by almost 10 feet each to reduce the G force loading on the riders. (The ride lost has lost it's mojo...)

Rattler, SFFT: This ride has had more reprofiling than just about any other ride- particularlay the first drop which has been raised numerous times due to stress on the trains and rough ride.