Jump to content
  TPR Home | Parks | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram 

A credit question


alpengeistdude321
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes.

 

So for example all of the Batman's and SLC's are their own credit...BUT...

 

The Boomerang at SFNE that came from SFKK...if you had already ridden it at SFKK, it was not a new credit once it was at SFNE.

 

Elissa "I wonder how low all of our counts would be if we only counted unique layouts!" Alvey

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OTOH some of us count them in both locations, provided we've ridden them at both places.

So far Stealth/Borg is the only one I've gotten so far, unless you call violating the track in SFMW parking lot "riding."

 

Out of curiosity:

How many of you count both versions of V2?

Would you then count Buzzsaw Falls/Powderkeg as 2 as well? (I do/will/wouldhave)

 

It's been a while since we've had a credit debate! Theses are always fun.

 

-J "Dueling Dragons only counts as one!" J

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would count the two different versions of V2, Steel Phantom/Phantom's Revenge and Bullsaw/Powder Keg because it significantly changes the ride experiences. If you average rider (member of the general public) would notice the difference, then IMO you could count it again. For example, I won't count Space Mountain at Disneyland again since the new track layout is exactly the same.

 

I stopped counting relocated coasters about 5 years ago, but I realized that basically I'd already been on that coaster once. Moving it to another location, IMO does not drastically change the ride experience. Stealth and Borg, for example, gave me the EXACT same ride experience, so therefore I could not justify counting it a second time.

 

As for racing/dueling coasters. I only count them as two if they are significantly different. For example Colossus or Superman: The Escape only count as one, even though I've ridden both sides. But Dueling Dragons, WindJammer, Gwazi count as two.

 

--Robb "But there are no rules for counting, only suggestions, so if someone wants to county Dudley's, it's totally up to you!" Alvey

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Basically I go along with coastercounter.com, +1 for V2 which is only listed once.

 

Technically though, Space Mountain has completely been rebuilt and is IMO a totally different, new coaster. The track is even significantly different from the 1970s track used before (plus there's no duct tape on the new track).

The Matterhorn however has been retracked constantly throughout it's life and while parts of it have been replaced, it's still the same coaster.

 

If you were to buy an old 1967 car and install a new engine, drive train, and interior, you would have a new car. Conversly if you just keep patching together your clunker, your stuck riding the same POS.

 

Not that the Matterhorn is a POS, but it does hurt your butt.

 

In the end though, whatever way you personally decide to count is the best way. I just wanted to plug coastercounter and talk about the Matterhorn.

 

-Don

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's all up to your person tastes.

 

Like how I count Thunder Run at PCW as a credit, but I know Robb doesn't.

What do you mean? Isn't that the woodie where one side runs backwards?

 

I think I count that one as two.

 

--Robb

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Technically though, Space Mountain has completely been rebuilt and is IMO a totally different, new coaster. The track is even significantly different from the 1970s track used before (plus there's no duct tape on the new track).

Technically, though, the same can be said for almost every woodie operating in the country, only that most of us aren't as aware of the complete re-trackings because it's done while the park is closed. Space Mountain is painfully obvious because it's been closed for such a long time.

 

Cheetah, for example, got an ENTIRE re-tracking this year, and from what I understand even made some modifications to the helix. So using that theory, I'd have to count Cheetah, and almost every woodie in the country twice, some of them three times! Hey! Not a bad idea!!!

 

But seriously, like I said there are no "rules" for counting. So if someone feels that Space Mountain is worthy of counting twice, you'll get no argument from me! Still, when the ride re-opens, most of the GP aren't going to notice that the track has been re-built. It's not as though they are putting loops or huge drops in it! (I wish!)

 

--Robb "Space Mountain isn't changing enough for me to count is twice." Alvey

Link to comment
Share on other sites

-edit- In reference to the PCW question ->No, it's that groovy mack powered coaster through the brown mountain of doom.

 

I count it. S:TE is also powered for most of it's circuit and I count that too. (twice )

 

-Don "I'm not counting Dudley though" Don

 

-edit- In reference to your post I'm just seeing now -> Yeah, well Space is getting a cool new sign, that means everybody has to count it again!

 

or not, or something. I do see your point though. I'm just really glad it's reopening.

 

At least I KNOW I can count Space at DLP this summer!

 

-Deeze

 

Stupid edits, Do you know if they are using the same supports for the Space Mountain redo? Now that I think about it, I remember seeing new track hauled in but I didn't see any new supports...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do you know if they are using the same supports for the Space Mountain redo? Now that I think about it, I remember seeing new track hauled in but I didn't see any new supports...

No, they aren't...that's why they had to dig down deeper, actually. The last structure was one big support with arms reaching out to hold the track. In fact, that is part of why it had to close. It wasn't structurally sound.

 

And that brings me back to the digging...it was dug deeper for the footers and supports that have to go in.

 

At least, that's the deal as I understand it...someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is a silly question. Can you count a coaster if you rode it in NL?

 

NL as in No Limits? I would never count anything like that at all. If you see pictures or video of the Bahamas, does that mean you actually went on vacation there? Didn't think so...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's all up to your person tastes.

 

Like how I count Thunder Run at PCW as a credit, but I know Robb doesn't.

What do you mean? Isn't that the woodie where one side runs backwards?

 

I think I count that one as two.

 

--Robb

 

Jeezus Juice got it. I was reffering to the powered mine train in the mountain. I seem to remember you mentioning that you don't count powered coasters.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

^^^ Just living up to my reputation.

 

Anyway, as a recovering credit ho, I am still trying to find a way to count:

 

Log Jammers

First Generation Freefalls

and Pretzel Dark Rides

 

I mean, "why not!".

 

- Powered by Gravity

- Complete Circuit

- Wheels

- Lift

- Drops

 

If you count "Leap the Dips", then what's the difference?

 

// Sitting back and watching where this one goes

Link to comment
Share on other sites

^^ I think I go by the whole "If it looks like a duck, and walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck ... then it's probably a duck" type reasoning.

 

I don't really have any tangible explenation for what counts and what doesn't. It's just a judgement call.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

^ there's your answer folks. That's about as concise and to the point as it gets. If you want to count it, count it.

 

It kinda fun to tease each other about contoversial counts, "Dude, your counting that again?! All they did was turn the train around!!" (SFMM Colossus, yes I have a friend that counted it again!)

But really, all the differences in counting methods will only change your count 2-5% anyway. Only one coaster I've ridden I've ridden somewhere else and so far I've only ridden one Moebius (racer). So my count is 394 +/- 5 depending on how you count.

 

I actually used to count Devils Den until it started bothering me. Yes, that would only happen to a tool and yes, it makes me feel dirty.

 

But hey, it's not like I've ridden that coaster at Uncle Bernies or anything!!

 

-Don "Only j/k don't get upset" Demarko

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use https://themeparkreview.com/forum/topic/116-terms-of-service-please-read/