TPR Home | Parks | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram 

Saltwater/Freshwater Aquarium Hobbyists

Cj1990

So I did some searching through the threads here and couldn't find anything... which means it needs to exist lol. I did find some talk about this, but no dedicated thread so I figured I would get one started!

I am fairly new to the hobby. I got into it in March. My first tank is my 60 Gallon. Everything they tell you when you are first starting out about: be patient, don't rush things, don't add too many things to the tank at once, etc. It is all true. I started my tank, tested the water constantly, and waited for the cycle. I was using a product that helped the tank cycle as well as adding in a raw shrimp to get the cycle started. Testing the water for a couple weeks and finally had results in the tests that indicated that the cycle had completed. I started to add fish. One at a time. I got a couple from online and a couple from some local places. In Pittsburgh we are lucky to have at least 4 stores that are pretty well dedicated to SW fish and are employed, obviously, by other hobbyists.

**If you would just like to share and skip over my long winded story, I marked below where to pick up lol. I figured that I could save those of you who aren’t all that interested some time lol.**

I am going to make a long story short here. I was running a pretty successful tank for a good month or so, and one of my fish ended up with Ich... and it was REALLY bad. I had coral in the tank at the time, but I decided that the lives of the fish were worth more than the corals. So I dosed the tank with a product to help eradicate the parasite. I now know that it is always present in SW aquariums regardless but I wanted to save them and didn’t have a quarantine option. Ich is another topic/conversation in and of itself.