TPR Home | Parks | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram 

2018 Ohio coaster trip

I'm planning on visiting Cedar Point and Kings Island for the first time next season. When is the best time to go to avoid crowds? I'm a uni student, so my trip will have to be sometime between late May and late August.

I'm not a "credit whore" and want to take my time to enjoy both parks, but I want to ride each of the non-kiddie coasters at least once, and check out any notable flat rides; are 2 days enough to cover everything at CP? What about Kings Island?

Are there relatively good, cheap places to stay near these parks? I signed up for the Choice Hotels Visa earlier this year and have racked up some free hotel nights, so I'd prefer their places.

Since I'm halfway across the country, I figured on either: (1) flying into Cleveland/Sandusky Airport, visiting Cedar Point, taking the Greyhound/Amtrak to Mason, visiting Kings Island, and then flying home from Cincinatti, or (2) the reverse - depending on which is cheaper.

Is there anything else within a reasonable distance where y'all would recommend going while I'm up there?

Any other advice that frequent park-goers can offer is much appreciated.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Uh...just looked up that trip on Google maps, and uh... OK, I'm a fan of public transit, and I've taken some trips that others would have balked at, but I would never attempt this. It's 27 hours total.

Screenshot_20171123-023451.thumb.png.66ef654cb43b7a5ccc9ad7261093f6d6.png